Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Lawrence Livermore research engineer Andy Pascall received the Best Presentation Award for his talk at World Materials Research Institutes Forum’s (WMRIF’s) 5th International Workshop for Young Scientists. Pascall’s presentation discussed his research into a new way to three-dimensionally print metal components by extruding a semisolid alloy from a printer nozzle, as toothpaste is squeezed from a tube.

WMRIF is an international organization with 50 member institutes, including several national laboratories. Pascall was chosen for the award by a review committee that considered criteria such as technical quality, presentation quality, potential impact, and the potential for benefiting the presenter. The award allows Pascall to visit any two WMRIF member institutions for two weeks at a time to learn more about their research and seek collaborative opportunities.

Chris Barty, chief technology officer of Lawrence Livermore’s National Ignition Facility and Photon Science Directorate, has been named a 2017 fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for his contributions to ultrahigh-intensity lasers and the advancement of x-ray and gamma-ray science. Fellow is the highest grade of IEEE membership and is awarded to a person with an outstanding record of accomplishments in any of the IEEE fields of interest.

Barty also currently serves as chair of the International Committee on Ultra-High Intensity Lasers. He has published more than 200 manuscripts and presented more than 200 invited talks over the years. His work has spanned lasers, optics, materials science, medicine, chemistry, engineering, and physics. At Livermore, he has served as the chief scientist for the Laser Science and Technology Program and was architect and first director of the mission-focused Photon Science and Applications Program.

Jay Zucca, Lawrence Livermore geophysicist and principal deputy of the Global Security Principal Directorate, was presented with the National Nuclear Security Administration’s (NNSA’s) Gold Medal of Excellence for Distinguished Service, which is the highest honorary award granted by NNSA. Bestowed for his 29 years of demonstrating outstanding scientific contributions and leadership toward U.S. global and nuclear security and nuclear explosion monitoring, the award also recognizes his work on programs and treaties, such as the Laboratory’s Ground-Based Nuclear Explosion Monitoring (GNEM) Program and the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO).

Zucca led the GNEM Program’s scientists and engineers in developing methods for monitoring underground nuclear explosions. He participated in the conference on disarmament that was part of CTBTO negotiations and, for nearly the past 20 years, has been a member of the U.S. delegation to the CTBTO’s Working Group B, the international body that seeks to resolve technical issues related to the treaty.

Fusion Power Associates (FPA) has selected Joe Kilkenny—scientific diagnostic leader of Lawrence Livermore’s National Ignition Facility (NIF) and vice president for high-energy-density physics at General Atomics—to receive a 2016 Leadership Award. FPA Leadership Awards have been presented since 1980 to individuals who have shown outstanding leadership qualities in accelerating the development of fusion.

After coming to the Laboratory in 1983, Kilkenny led the Inertial Confinement Fusion Program from 1995 to 2001, helping spawn the creation of NIF. He is also recognized for his leadership in developing instruments for NIF’s National Diagnostics Program. For nearly four decades, Kilkenny has been a leader in the field of inertial confinement fusion, pioneering work at major laser facilities on hydrodynamic instabilities, opacity, thermal and suprathermal electron transport, and advanced diagnostics.