Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Mechanical engineer Rose McCallen has been named a 2017 Distinguished Alumni by California State University (CSU) at Chico. One of eight alumni recognized, McCallen was honored by the university’s College of Engineering, Computer Science, and Construction Management. McCallen has long remained active with CSU Chico, serving on the advisory board of the university’s Department of Mechanical and Mechatronic Engineering and Sustainable Manufacturing. She also participates in its annual “Alumni in the Classroom” presentations and on-campus workshops to assist students applying for government internships and fellowships. McCallen has led a variety of projects during her 35-year career at Livermore. In her current position, she performs program development and university relations work for Livermore’s Weapons and Complex Integration Principal Directorate.

Mathematician Carol Woodward became the first Livermore employee named a fellow of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics (SIAM), in recognition for her work developing mathematical algorithms and software for faster and more accurate simulations of complex physical phenomena. Woodward is a project lead of the Suite of Nonlinear and Differential/Algebraic Solvers (SUNDIALS) project and has developed algorithms for applications as diverse as subsurface flow, particle transport, fusion, climate, supernovae, and materials science. Only 28 SIAM fellows were selected this year, and Woodward was one of only two from Department of Energy laboratories.

Kathleen Shingleton of the Radiation Protection functional area in the Environment, Safety, and Health (ES&H) program has been appointed as a member of the National Council on Radiation Protection and Measurements (NCRP). Shingleton is the radiation safety technical lead at Livermore and has held various technical and managerial positions related to ES&H. She served as secretary and president of the American Academy of Health Physics and as treasurer and member-at-large of the Health Physics Society. NCRP seeks to formulate and widely disseminate information, guidance, and recommendations on radiation protection and measurements that represent the consensus of leading scientific thinking. Shingleton recently retired in June after 38 years of contributions to the Laboratory.

Livermore physicist Félicie Albert received the 2017 Katherine E. Weimer Award from the Division of Plasma Physics (DPP) of the American Physical Society. Albert was recognized “for pioneering development and characterization of x-ray sources from laser-wakefield accelerators and Compton scattering gamma-ray sources for applications in high-energy-density science and nuclear resonance fluorescence.” The award established by DPP recognizes and encourages outstanding achievement in plasma science research by a woman physicist in the early years of her career.

U.S. Marine Corps veteran Destiny Goddu, who works as a mechanical engineering technician at the National Ignition Facility, was named the 16th Assembly District’s Veteran of the Year by Assemblywoman Catherine Baker during a ceremony at Las Positas College. Goddu stood out among veterans in the area not only because of her distinguished military service but also her work with other student veterans at Las Positas, where she recently received her associate degree in engineering technology. Goddu earned her degree through the Veterans to Technology program, a collaboration between Lawrence Livermore, Las Positas College, and the Alameda County Workforce Investment Board.