Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Back to top

Back to top

Livermore physicists Linda Stuart and Hank O’Brien were recognized with commendations from the United Kingdom’s Ministry of Defence (MOD). Each year, MOD assesses and gives commendations to their most impactful science, technology, and engineering programs.

The United States and the United Kingdom partner under the 1958 Mutual Defence Agreement on Atomic Weapons Treaty to leverage each country’s capabilities to better support their independent nuclear deterrence postures. Stuart and O’Brien were recognized for their efforts in establishing and delivering the Joint Technology Demonstrator program, which reduces technical risk for future life-extension programs.

The Applied Biosystems™ Axiom™ Microbiome Array (ABAMA), the commercialized successor to the Lawrence Livermore Microbial Detection Array (LLMDA), has garnered an Excellence in Technology Transfer Award from the Federal Laboratory Consortium (FLC). The microarray is the most comprehensive microorganism detection platform built to date and the first high throughput microarray that uses whole genome resolution for identifying all sequenced microbes, including bacteria, viruses, fungi, archaea (primitive bacteria), and protozoa. Started in 1974, the FLC is a chartered, nationwide network that helps accelerate the transfer of technologies from federal laboratories into the marketplace.

Retired Laboratory physicist William Bookless, whose distinguished 35-year career includes serving as Lawrence Livermore’s deputy associate director of Defense and Nuclear Technologies and the associate director for the Safety and Environmental Protection Directorate, has been selected as the principal deputy administrator at the Department of Energy’s (DOE’s) National Nuclear Security Administration (NNSA). In this role, Bookless will support the NNSA administrator in the management and operation of NNSA, as well as in policy matters across DOE and the nuclear security enterprise.

Lawrence Livermore atmospheric scientist Benjamin Santer has received the William Procter Prize for Scientific Achievement from Sigma Xi—the Scientific Research Honor Society. The Procter Prize has been awarded annually since 1950 to a scientist who has made an outstanding contribution to scientific research and has demonstrated an ability to communicate the significance of this research to scientists in other disciplines.

Since 1995, Santer and his colleagues have identified human “fingerprints” in atmospheric temperature and water vapor, ocean heat content, sea surface temperature in hurricane formation regions, and many other climate variables. As a Procter Prize recipient, Santer receives a $5,000 honorarium and is able to designate an early-career colleague in the same field of research to receive a $5,000 award from Sigma Xi’s Grants in Aid of Research program.