LLNL Home S&TR Home Subscribe to S&TR Send Us Your Comments S&TR Index
Spacer Gif

S&TR Search

S&TR Staff

Spacer Gif


The International Association of GeoChemistry has selected a paper authored by Environmental Radiochemistry Group members Keara Moore, Brenda Ekwurzel, Brad Esser, Bryant Hudson, and Jean Moran as the recipient of the Hitchon Award, a new international prize. The paper, “Sources of Groundwater Nitrate Revealed Using Residence Time and Isotope Methods,” was recognized as the most important piece published last year in Applied Geochemistry, the association’s monthly journal. The research leading to the paper, performed at Lawrence Livermore on local groundwater, involved using isotopic tracer techniques to examine groundwater flow patterns and timing of nitrate inputs to groundwater. Research results suggest that synthetic fertilizer and naturally occurring nitrogen in soil are more significant sources of groundwater nitrate contamination than previously thought.

Three Livermore teams have won Nano 50™ awards, which are given for the top 50 technologies, products, and innovations that have significantly impacted or will impact key nanotechnology commercial markets, from automotive and electronics to biomedical and materials. The awards are sponsored by the journal Nanotech Briefs.
Greg Nyce of the Chemistry, Materials, and Life Sciences (CMLS) Directorate was recognized for the development of new nanoporous, low-density materials. Designed for use in experiments at the National Ignition Facility (NIF), these materials have a wide range of potential for electronic, catalytic, and sensor applications.
Olgica Bakajin of CMLS was recognized for the discovery and experimental demonstration of ultrafast transport in carbon nanotubes. This nanotechnology has the potential to considerably improve the efficiency of water purification and desalination.
Jeff Tok of CMLS and George Dougherty of Engineering were recognized for their work on pathogen-sensing nanosensors based on multistripped metallic nanowires. This technology may enable rapid and sensitive single- and multiplex immunoassays for biowarfare agents and simulants and has applications in basic biology research and genetic screening.

George Chapline of the Physics and Advanced Technologies Directorate was named the winner of a Computing Anticipatory Systems 2007 Award for his work on neural networks and the brain. A computing anticipatory system computes its current states, taking into account not only past and present but also potential future states. Chapline’s work in this area could have applications for treating mental illnesses and lead to profound improvements in education.

John Lindl, chief scientist for the NIF Programs Directorate, received the 2007 James Clerk Maxwell Prize for Plasma Physics from the American Physical Society (APS). APS established the prize to recognize outstanding contributions to the field of plasma physics. Lindl’s certificate says, “For 30 years of continuous plasma physics contributions in high-energy-density physics and inertial confinement fusion research and scientific management.”
Before assuming his current role at NIF, Lindl served as scientific director for the Laboratory’s Inertial Confinement Fusion Program. He is the author of numerous scientific journal articles and a seminal book entitled, Inertial Confinement Fusion: The Quest for Ignition and Energy Gain Using Indirect Drive.


Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Internet Publishing Team

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-07-9 | September 20, 2007