Anthony M. McCarthy
"Method for Forming Silicon on a Glass Substrate"
U.S. Patent 5,395,481
Issued March 7, 1995
A method by which single-crystal silicon microelectronics may be fabricated on glass substrates at low temperatures.

Michael W. Droege, Paul R. Coronado, and Lucy M. Hair
"Method for Making Monolithic Metal Oxide Aerogels"
U.S. Patent 5,395,805
Issued March 7, 1995
A method in which a metal alkoxide solution and a catalyst solution are prepared separately and reacted to produce transparent, monolithic metal oxide aerogels of varying densities.

Earl R. Ault and Terry W. Alger
"Metal Vapor Laser Including Hot Electrodes and Integral Wick"
U.S. Patent 5,396,513
Issued March 7, 1995
A specifically designed electrode and wicking associated with the plasma tube of metal vapor lasers.

Anthony M. McCarthy
"Method of Forming Crystalline Silicon Devices on Glass"
U.S. Patent 5,399,231
Issued March 21, 1995 A method for fabricating single-crystal silicon microelectronic components on a silicon substrate and transferring them to a glass substrate.

Thomas C. Kuklo
"Kinematic High Bandwidth Mirror Mount"
U.S. Patent 5,400,184
Issued March 21, 1995
An adjustable high bandwidth mount for mirrors used in
optical systems. The mount is adjustable along two perpendicular axes.

Steven T. Mayer, James L. Kaschmitter, and Richard W. Pekala
"Aquagel Electrode Separator for Use in Batteries and Supercapacitors"
U.S. Patent 5,402,306
Issued March 28, 1995.
An electrode separator formed of aquagel with electrolyte in its pores for electrochemical energy storage devices.


Dana Isherwood, the Laboratory's legislative analyst, and Dick Post, a Laboratory Associate in the Energy Directorate, were elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) in recognition of their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications.
Ralph Jacobs, director of New Technology Initiatives in the Laser Program at LLNL, was elected fellow of the American Physical Society. He was honored for "fundamental and applied contributions to the research and development for a wide variety of gaseous, solid, and liquid laser media."
Tom McEwan and his "radar on a chip" were honored in April by the Federal Laboratory Consortium for excellence in transferring technology from a laboratory to private business. The Consortium is an association of Department of Energy research facilities that assists the U.S. public and private sectors in using technologies developed by federal research laboratories.
Secretary of Energy Hazel O'Leary presented Laboratory representatives with the Management and Operation Contractor of the Year Award on March 31 in recognition of its outstanding achievement in providing substantial contracting opportunities for small businesses. She cited our socioeconomic program assisting small, women- and minority-owned business in securing procurement contracts with the Laboratory as the best of its kind in the DOE complex.
The 1994 E. O. Lawrence Award has been awarded to Michael Campbell, head of the Laboratory's lasers program, and John Lindl, scientific director for Inertial Confinement Fusion for distinguished leadership in helping to propel laser-driven inertial confinement fusion to the forefront of physics research. The award was established in 1959 in memory of Ernest O. Lawrence to recognize outstanding contributions in the field of atomic energy. Dr. Campbell was also the winner of the 1995 Edward Teller Medal. This award was established in 1989 to commemorate Teller's contributions to fusion energy.
The Northern California Section of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers has named a hazardous explosives cleanup process developed at the Laboratory as Project of the Year. The award cited the project's principal investigators Ravi Upadhye, Bruce Watkins, Cesar Pruneda, and Bill Brummond. The process uses molten salt to safely dispose of waste explosives and explosive-like materials.