LLNL Home S&TR Home Subscribe to S&TR Send Us Your Comments S&TR Index
Spacer Gif

S&TR Staff

Spacer Gif


In June 2004, the U.S. Air Force honored Bruce Goodwin, George Sakaldasis, and Larry Altbaum each with the Exemplary Civilian Services Medal. This medal is the highest Air Force civilian service award and is equivalent to the military’s Distinguished Service Medal. Goodwin is associate director for Defense and Nuclear Technologies, Sakaldasis is assistant director for Military Affairs in the Laboratory’s National Security Office, and Altbaum leads the Weaponization Program in the Defense Technologies Engineering Division.

Theodore Saito received the Exceptional Public Service Award from the Department of Defense (DoD) for his work in nonproliferation policy at the Pentagon from September 2002 to June 2004. Saito, a senior staff engineer who has worked at the Laboratory for 20 years, was assigned to work in Washington, DC, for the Department of Energy in September 2001 as the scientific advisor for the National Ignition Facility. A year later, he was transferred to the Pentagon in a DoD-sponsored position working with the offices of Non-Proliferation Policy and Short-Arms-Control Policy. Additionally, Saito served as the lead officer on the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty and helped draft Senate testimony adding protocol language to the treaty. He also collaborated with the International Atomic Energy Agency and was instrumental in the federal government’s efforts to monitor nuclear weapons in foreign nations such as India, Pakistan, Iran, and South Korea.

In August 2004, John Wolf, a radiological characterization analyst, received one of the top awards at the national meeting of the Academy of Certified Hazardous Materials Managers (ACHMM) in Las Vegas, Nevada. Wolf earned the Young CHMM of the Year Award for his outstanding contributions and significant accomplishments in the hazardous materials management, environmental, and health and safety fields. This award was given to Wolf as the brightest and best of young (35 years or younger) CHMM professionals. In addition, Wolf received a Champion of Excellence Award for his promotion of the CHMM credential and professional development activities as president of the Northern California Chapter. ACHMM is a national organization with more than 6,000 certified professionals supporting environmental and waste management programs, projects, and activities in the U.S.

Plant Engineering’s Permit Office and Damage Prevention Team has been awarded the Government Video Star Award for its training video entitled “Soil Excavation and Concrete Penetration Permit Process and Awareness at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.” Both Laboratory and subcontractor employees performing excavation and concrete penetrations at Livermore are required to review the video prior to performing work. The Government Video Technology Exposition is the East Coast’s largest conference and exposition created exclusively for government communication professionals and their specific product and service needs. The team’s work was recognized at the Seventh Annual Government Video Technology Exposition during a ceremony on October 6, 2004, in Washington, DC.

Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Internet Publishing Team

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-04-11 | November 10, 2004