STR Masthead



Laboratory physicists Peter Celliers, Jim De Yoreo, and Denise Hinkel have been named Fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). The APS recognizes those who have made advances in knowledge through original research or significant innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology.

Celliers of the Science and Technology Principal Directorate was recognized for improving ways to measure shock waves used to study material states. He developed variations and improvements of existing diagnostic methods to make them work with laser-driven shock waves.

De Yoreo, now at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, was honored for his work in biomineralization. His citation reads, “For his pioneering work using in situ force microscopy to understand the physical principles underlying biocrystallization, particularly the control of biomolecules and other modifiers on energy landscapes, step dynamics, and morphological evolution during crystal formation.”

Hinkel, who works in the Weapons and Complex Integration Principal Directorate, currently leads a simulation effort on beam propagation in ignition targets designed for the National Ignition Facility. She was cited for her extensive contributions to laser–plasma interaction physics and radiation hydrodynamic testing of inertial confinement fusion targets and to the fundamental physics of linear and nonlinear wave propagation in plasmas.

Diane Spencer, a safety analysis engineer in the Operations and Business Principal Directorate, has been named a Fellow of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers for her constant advocacy on behalf of her profession. Spencer has played an instrumental role in pulling together a support coalition for chemical engineers and now serves as a delegate for the California Legislative Council of Professional Engineers. She has spent time in Sacramento educating legislators about the profession and seeking changes in current laws that limit the role of chemical engineers in the state.

Lisa Poyneer of the Engineering Directorate received the Jain Prize from the University of California (UC) at Davis for her dissertation entitled, “Signal Processing for High-Precision Wavefront Control in Adaptive Optics,” which she completed in June 2007. The annual award recognizes the best Ph.D. dissertation in the UC Davis Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.

Poyneer joined the Laboratory in 2001 as a signal-processing engineer. She began her Ph.D. program through Livermore’s Education Assistance Program in 2003. Poyneer’s research, which focused on applying signal-processing techniques to adaptive optics, helped the Laboratory secure a $24 million contract to build the Gemini Planet Imager. The new techniques described in her dissertation will be used in that instrument.

Employees from several national laboratories, including Lawrence Livermore, have assisted Russian officials in developing a national accounting system for civilian nuclear material. Rose Babcock of the Global Security Principal Directorate was honored in February 2008 by the National Nuclear Security Administration for her role in helping “build a flexible and sustainable system and earning the respect of Russian counterparts.”

Babcock served as the project leader for the Federal Information System at Russia’s Federal Atomic Energy Agency for seven years. “We were able to establish a partnership through which the federal managers in Russia believe in the accounting system,” says Babcock. “The system has been successfully implemented and provides annual reports of the location and amount of civilian nuclear materials in Russia.”


S&TR Home | LLNL Home | LLNL Site Map | Top
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Web & Multimedia Group

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the
U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration

Privacy & Legal Notice | UCRL-TR-52000-08-5/6 | May 5, 2008