LLNL Home S&TR Home Subscribe to S&TR Send Us Your Comments S&TR Index
Spacer Gif

Spacer Gif


Former Laboratory Director Bruce Tarter has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) under the section on Societal Impacts of Science and Engineering. Tarter is being honored for his “distinguished leadership of Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in transforming the science base for post–Cold War national security and for sustained contributions to national science policy.” Alan Leshner, chief executive officer of AAAS and the executive publisher of Science magazine, called the award “a well-deserved recognition” for Tarter’s accomplishments.
Tarter served as Laboratory Director from 1994 to 2002, the second-longest tenure in Livermore’s history. During those years, he was instrumental in leading the Laboratory from its Cold War missions to its current focus on national security through science-based stockpile stewardship and nonproliferation programs.

The American Physical Society (APS) has selected five Laboratory physicists as APS Fellows.
John Castor, from the Defense and Nuclear Technologies Directorate’s AX Division, was recognized for “groundbreaking work on radiatively driven stellar winds, and contributions to the theory of opacities, equations-of-state, and radiation hydrodynamics, including national security applications in high-energy-density physics.”
Theoretical astrophysicist Richard Klein, also in AX Division, was selected for “pioneering contributions in computational astrophysics including star formation, radiatively driven stellar winds, instabilities in supernovae and magnetized neutron stars, and scaled laser experiments simulating strong shock phenomena in the interstellar medium.”
Giulia Galli, who leads the Quantum Simulations Group in the Physics and Advanced Technologies (PAT) Directorate, was cited for her “important contributions to the field of ab initio molecular dynamics and to the understanding of amorphous and liquid semiconductors and quantum systems.”
Erich Ormand, the acting group leader for Nuclear Theory and Modeling in the PAT Directorate, was cited for his “important contributions to nuclear structure physics, including both the ab initio shell-model calculations and the Monte Carlo approach; and for his contributions to nuclear physics as applied to the Stockpile Stewardship.”
Christian Mailhiot, who leads the Materials Science and Technology Division in the Chemistry and Materials Science Directorate, was recognized for his “outstanding contributions and scientific leadership in theoretical and computational condensed matter and materials physics, with particular emphasis on innovative discoveries related to quantum-confined semiconductor structures and high-pressure research.”
A sixth APS Fellow from Livermore, Steven Hatchett, was named earlier in 2003 (see S&TR, January/February 2004, Awards).
Each year, no more than one-half of 1 percent of the current APS membership is recognized by their peers through election to the status of fellow. APS fellowship recognizes members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication, or those who have made significant and innovative contributions in the application of physics to science and technology. APS fellows also may have made significant contributions to the teaching of physics or service and participation in the activities of the society.

APS also has honored Siegfried Glenzer with its 2003 Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics Research. Glenzer, who was named an APS Fellow in 2001, is group leader for Plasma Physics in the National Ignition Facility (NIF) Programs Directorate. In 2003, he became the first researcher to conduct scientific experiments in the NIF target chamber. APS honored Glenzer “for elegant diagnostics using collective Thomson scattering together with X-ray spectroscopy, which greatly advanced the understanding of the complex plasma environment in laser driven hohlraums used in inertial confinement fusion.”

Optical physicist Gary Sommargren has been awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award from the American Society for Precision Engineering. The lifetime achievement award is designated to those individuals who, over the span of their careers, made significant contributions to the science and discipline of precision engineering. Sommargren has devoted most of his career to solving problems in optical metrology, both at the Laboratory and at Zygo Corporation, where he worked from 1981 to 1991.

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory has received a Longevity Award from the Ombudsman Association, the largest group representing ombuds in the U.S. and Canada. The award is given to organizations that have had an ombuds program for more than 10 years. Ombuds services have existed in some of Livermore’s organizations since the 1970s. In 1997, these services were expanded Laboratory-wide in response to employee suggestions.

Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Internet Publishing Team

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-04-3 | March 3, 2004