STR Masthead



Retired Laboratory physicist Ken Kulander received the 2008 Will Allis Prize for the Study of Ionized Gases from the American Physical Society. The award citation honored Kulander for developing “time-dependent methods and models that have advanced our understanding of strong field ionization processes in rapidly ionizing gases.” Kulander joined the Laboratory in 1978 and led the Theoretical Atomic and Molecular Physics Group from 1986 until he retired in 2001.

A team of scientists from Lawrence Livermore and IBM earned the 2007 Gordon Bell Prize for their simulation of Kelvin–Helmholtz instability in molten metals. This large-scale molecular dynamics simulation run on the BlueGene/L supercomputer allowed the researchers to study, for the first time, how such instabilities develop from atomic-scale fluctuations into micrometer-scale vortices. Team members include Jim Glosli, Kyle Caspersen, David Richards, Robert Rudd, and Fred Streitz, all from Livermore’s Physical Sciences Directorate, and IBM scientist John Gunnels.


S&TR Home | LLNL Home | LLNL Site Map | Top
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Web & Multimedia Group

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the
U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration

Privacy & Legal Notice | UCRL-TR-52000-08-3/4 | March 3, 2008