STR Masthead



Jim Candy, chief scientist in Livermore’s Engineering Directorate, received the Helmholtz–Rayleigh Interdisciplinary Silver Medal from the Acoustical Society of America. The award recognizes Candy’s work on model-based signal- and image-processing techniques to improve the detection and measurement of underwater acoustics for applications in national security, materials science, and medicine.

The Federal Laboratory Consortium for Technology Transfer (FLC) honored two Laboratory teams for excellence in technology transfer. The first team, which developed a compact proton therapy system for treating cancer patients, includes George Caporaso, Stephen Sampayan, Yu-Jiuan Chen, Genaro Mempin, Roger Werne, and James Tak of Livermore; Tod Stoltz of the University of California (UC) at Davis; and Dennis Matthews of the UC Davis Cancer Center. The second team, which developed a portable neutron detector to help interdict illegal nuclear materials, includes Mark Rowland, Dan Dietrich, Raymond Alvarez, Neal Snyderman, Manoj Prasad, Phillip Kerr, Doug Howard, Pedro Castro, Catherine Elizondo, and Ray Pierce of Livermore; and Tim Twomey and Daniel Upp of AMETEK Inc.’s ORTEC Products Group. FLC is a nationwide program that helps link federal laboratory mission technologies and expertise with the marketplace.

Keith Carlisle in Engineering received an Award of Excellence from the National Nuclear Security Administration’s Defense Programs “for excellence in planning, managing, and executing the modern turning center evaluation and selection process.” Carlisle and other Livermore researchers are working with Los Alamos National Laboratory to design the next generation of shell machines for pit production at Los Alamos. Carlisle’s design was selected over five others because it has a small footprint, takes advantage of modern machine technology, features a U.S. machine-tool supplier, and uses many commercially available parts, which helps reduce manufacturing costs.

The American Physical Society (APS) has selected five Laboratory researchers as outstanding referees of APS journals. The honorees are Peter Beiersdorfer, Mau Hsiung Chen, and Ian Thompson of the Physical Sciences Directorate; Charles Cerjan of the Weapons and Complex Integration Principal Directorate; and former Livermore researcher William Hoover. APS instituted the outstanding referee program this year to recognize scientists who have been exceptionally helpful in assessing manuscripts for publication in APS journals. In its inaugural year, the program selected 534 referees for this lifetime award. In the future, APS will annually recognize about 130 of its 42,000 active referees.

Three Laboratory scientists are among 72 new fellows elected by SPIE (International Society for Optical Engineering) for significant scientific and technical contributions in the fields of optic, photonics, and imaging. Senior engineer John S. Taylor, who leads the Precision Systems and Manufacturing Group, was recognized for “precision engineering and specific achievements in optical engineering for reflective extreme ultraviolet optics and assembled systems.” Edward Moses, principal associate director for the National Ignition Facility and Photon Science, was honored “for specific achievements in high-energy lasers.” Livermore retiree Alan Frank was recognized for his achievements in high-speed photography and high-powered lasers.

Pam Hullinger, the Laboratory’s chief veterinary officer, was inducted into the Alameda County Women’s Hall of Fame for her work in science. Hullinger oversees the agricultural assay development work and foreign animal disease modeling program, both of which focus on preventing the introduction and mitigation effects of foreign animal diseases. She is the sixth current or former Laboratory employee to receive this honor.

Lisa Poyneer of Livermore’s Engineering Technologies Division received the 2008 Zuhair A. Munir Award from UC Davis for her dissertation, “Signal Processing for High-Precision Wavefront Control in Adaptive Optics.” This award is Poyneer’s second for her dissertation, which she completed in June 2007 under the mentorship of Bernard Levy in the UC Davis Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

Livermore scientist Tom Isaacs has been named to the National Academy of Sciences’ Nuclear and Radiation Studies Board, which oversees studies on the safety, security, technical efficiency, and policy and societal issues arising from the application of nuclear and radiation-based technologies. In May, Isaacs began a yearlong leave to serve as a consulting professor at the Stanford University Center for International Security and Cooperation. The center’s mission is to produce policy-relevant research on international security problems, train the next generation of security specialists, and influence policy making in international security. Isaacs heads the Laboratory’s Office of Planning and Special Studies, which publishes Science & Technology Review.

S&TR Home | LLNL Home | LLNL Site Map | Top
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Web & Multimedia Group

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the
U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration

Privacy & Legal Notice | UCRL-TR-52000-08-7/8 | July 8, 2008