LLNL Home S&TR Home Subscribe to S&TR Send Us Your Comments S&TR Index
Spacer Gif

S&TR Staff

Spacer Gif


Siegfried Glenzer, a physicist in Livermore’s National Ignition Facility Programs Directorate, received the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation Research Award. The foundation promotes international scientific cooperation by annually selecting 100 scientists from around the world to conduct research projects of their choice in cooperation with specialist colleagues in Germany. Glenzer was invited by Ronald Redmer to spend an academic year at the Universität Rostock and at the Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY) facility in Hamburg. At Rostock, Glenzer will collaborate with Redmer on planning and interpreting x-ray Compton scattering experiments, and he will teach a lecture series in plasma diagnostics to advanced students. At DESY, he will participate in the first short-wavelength free-electron laser experiments, which will begin this year.

The American Nuclear Society (ANS) awarded a 2005 Edward Teller Medal to Livermore physicist Max Tabak, who works in the Laboratory’s Defense and Nuclear Technologies Directorate. Tabak is best known as the lead inventor of fast ignition, a technique that uses powerful short-pulse lasers to directly ignite precompressed fusion fuel. ANS honored Tabak for being “an effective mentor and group leader, whose team has made major contributions to a broad range of topics in Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF) and high-energy-density physics and has stimulated advanced research all over the world.”
Also receiving an Edward Teller Medal is former Laboratory employee Joseph Kilkenny, who now serves as vice president for Inertial Fusion Technology at General Atomics in San Diego, and associate director for Science and Technology at the Laboratory for Laser Energetics of the University of Rochester in Rochester, New York. Kilkenny led Livermore’s ICF program in 1995. Experiments he initiated were the basis for recommendations issued by the National Academy of Sciences in support of the National Ignition Facility.
ANS presents two Edward Teller Medals biennially to recognize pioneering research and leadership in inertial fusion sciences and applications. The award is named in honor of Lawrence Livermore’s cofounder and former director, the late Edward Teller. He is recognized worldwide as a pioneer in inertial fusion sciences.

Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Internet Publishing Team

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-05-7/8 | July 10, 2005