STR Masthead


S&TR Home


Take Our Survey

S&TR Index

S&TR Staff


Tomás Díaz de la Rubia, associate director for the Chemistry, Materials, Earth, and Life Sciences Directorate, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He is among 471 new fellows recognized by the association in 2007 for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science or its applications.

Díaz de la Rubia was elected to the physics category for his distinguished contributions to computational materials science and radiation damage to materials. He joined Lawrence Livermore in 1989 as a postdoctoral researcher and became a full-time staff member in 1994. As group leader for Computational Materials Science, he helped build an internationally recognized effort in computational materials science at Livermore. From 2000 to 2002, he led a program for the National Ignition Facility, focusing on optical materials and target development, until he moved into the associate director role in 2002. Díaz de la Rubia’s recent scientific research has focused on using large-scale computer simulations to investigate the diffusion, defects, and microstructural evolution of materials in extreme environments.

On October 12, 2007, the Norwegian Nobel Committee announced the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize will be shared between the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) and former Vice President Al Gore. The award recognizes the recipients’ efforts to build and disseminate knowledge of human-induced climate change and to lay the foundations for the measures needed to counteract such change. More than 40 Lawrence Livermore employees made key scientific contributions to the IPCC assessment reports that address anthropogenic climate change.

The Laboratory’s Program for Climate Model Diagnosis and Intercomparison (PCMDI) is funded by the Climate Change Research Division of the U.S. Department of Energy’s Office of Science, Biological, and Environmental Research. PCMDI has provided information for the IPCC reports since 1990. In 1996, as part of the IPCC’s Second Assessment Report, Livermore research on climate fingerprinting contributed to the historic conclusion that “the balance of evidence suggests a discernible human influence on global climate.” The research also supported subsequent IPCC findings. The acknowledgments of the Fourth Assessment Report recognized PCMDI for its valuable role in archiving and distributing climate model output. In addition, IPCC publicly honored PCMDI with a plaque commemorating its significant contributions to that report.

Hundreds of worldwide authors, who are experts in their field, devoted time and labor to writing and reviewing the IPCC reports. Livermore participants included Krishna AchutaRao, Jenny Aquilino, Cyndi Atherton, Dave Bader, Govindasamy Bala, Celine Bonfils, Jim Boyle, Ken Caldeira, Cathy Chuang, Curt Covey, Jane Dignon, Charles Doutriaux, Bob Drach, Philip Duffy, Hugh Elsasser, Mike Fiorino, Larry Gates, Peter Gleckler, Allen Grossman, Stan Grotch, Tony Hoang, Stephen Klein, Mike MacCracken, Norm Miller, Joyce Penner, Tom Phillips, Jerry Potter, Benjamin Santer, Bob Schock, Ken Sperber, Karl Taylor, Starlyne Thompson, Michael Wehner, Dean Williams, and Don Wuebbles.


S&TR Home | LLNL Home | LLNL Site Map | Top
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Web & Multimedia Group

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the
U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration

Privacy & Legal Notice | UCRL-TR-52000-08-1/2 | January 10, 2008