LLNL Home S&TR Home Subscribe to S&TR Send Us Your Comments S&TR Index
Spacer Gif

S&TR Search

S&TR Staff

Spacer Gif


James Wilson of the Laboratory’s Defense and Nuclear Technologies Directorate is the recipient of the American Physical Society’s 2006 Hans Bethe Award. Throughout his career, Wilson has made substantial contributions in both aerophysics and astrophysics. He is best known for his supernova calculations, proposing how one works and why it explodes, and for his work on neutron-star binaries.
The Hans Bethe Award recognizes outstanding work in theory, experiment, or observation. This award is presented annually to one individual for outstanding accomplishments in astrophysics, nuclear physics, nuclear astrophysics, or closely related fields. The award commemorates Hans Bethe, a German-American physicist who won the 1967 Nobel Prize in Physics.

Masaru Takagi of the National Ignition Facility (NIF) Programs Directorate received the 2006 Larry Foreman Award for Excellence and Innovation in Inertial Confinement Fusion (ICF) Target Fabrication.
The award is given every two years in memory of Edward Teller Award recipient Larry Foreman (formerly of Los Alamos National Laboratory) and his innovative work in target fabrication for ICF. Takagi invented the chemical processes used to make extremely round and smooth plastic shells that are the starting point for ICF capsule fabrication. His work enables the production of both plastic and beryllium shells that meet the stringent specifications required for ignition experiments with NIF.

A team of scientists led by Francois Gygi, formerly of the Laboratory and currently at the University of California at Davis, received the 2006 Gordon Bell Prize for a large-scale electronic structure simulation of the heavy metal molybdenum, conducted on the world’s fastest supercomputer—the IBM BlueGene/L at Livermore. Other team members included researchers from IBM’s T. J. Watson Research Center, Carnegie Mellon University, and Institute of Analysis and Scientific Computing at the Vienna University of Technology, Vienna, Austria.
Named for C. Gordon Bell, one of the founders of supercomputing, the Gordon Bell Prize is awarded to innovators who advance high-performance computing. Bell established the prize in 1987 to encourage innovation that would further develop parallel processing—the computer design philosophy that has driven high-performance computing since the 1980s. The prize, one of the most coveted awards in high-performance computing, is administered by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineering.

Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Internet Publishing Team

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-07-1/2 | January 12, 2007