View the LLNL home Back to the S&TR home Subscribe to Our magazine Send 
us your comments Browse through our index






Privacy &
Legal Notice

January/February 2003

The Laboratory
in the News

Commentary by
Glenn Mara

A Question of Quarks

Island Paradise Regained

Understanding Cells in a New Way with Three-Dimensional Models





Seven Livermore physicists have been named fellows of the American Physical Society (APS). This group is among the largest from the Laboratory to be honored in a single year.
The APS Fellowship Program was created to recognize members who have made advances in knowledge through original research and publication or applied physics to make significant and innovative contributions to science and technology. They may also have contributed significantly to the teaching of physics or participated in numerous APS activities.
Tomas Diaz de la Rubia, associate director for Chemistry and Materials Science, was elected for his work in computational physics, notably “his contributions to multiscale modeling of materials and seminal research on defect processes in solids under irradiation or high-strain-rate conditions.”
Yu-Jiuan Chen of the Fusion Energy Division of the Physics and Advanced Technologies (PAT) Directorate was named for her work in revolutionizing the achievable beam quality of linear induction accelerators and advancing the state of the art of flash x-ray radiographic technology.
Forrest Rogers, a physicist in the PAT Directorate who has worked at the Laboratory for more than 30 years, was nominated for his work in plasma physics. He was cited for developing the ACTEX equation of state and OPAL code opacity models and applying them to such astrophysical and laboratory plasma problems as helioseismology, variable stars, and laser shock experiments.
Barbara Lasinski, a long-time physicist in the Defense and Nuclear Technologies Directorate, was cited for “development and applications of particle-in-cell codes for laser–plasma interaction physics and a long series of contributions to the understanding of the physics of targets for high-power laser experiments.”
Otto “Nino” Landen, acting associate program leader for ignition physics experiments in the Inertial Confinement Fusion Program of the National Ignition Facility Programs Directorate, was named a fellow for his work in plasma physics, in particular, picosecond laser–plasma interactions, advanced diagnostics, x-ray-driven inertial confinement fusion implosions, and time-dependent hohlraum symmetry control.
Andrew McMahan, a physicist in the PAT Directorate for 28 years, was named a fellow in the computational physics category for his work in completing effective Hamiltonian parameters for copper oxides and phase transitions of materials under high pressure and the subsequent solution of the associated models.
Donald Prosnitz, a physicist in the Nonproliferation, Arms Control, and International Security Directorate who is on leave to serve as chief science advisor for the Department of Justice, was cited for his pioneering work in free-electron lasers, part of the Strategic Defense Initiative. Prosnitz was nominated in the physics and society category for accomplishments in fundamental physics research at Livermore and for his contributions to society through physics research supporting national security and law enforcement technologies.



Back | S&TR Home | LLNL Home | Help | Phone Book | Comments
Site designed and maintained by Kitty Tinsley

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by the University of California for the U.S. Department of Energy

UCRL-52000-03-1/2 | January 23, 2003