STR Masthead



The American Society of Civil Engineers presented the 2011 Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Prize to Gokhan Kirkil and his coauthors for their paper, “Detached Eddy Simulation Investigation of Turbulence at a Circular Pier with Scour Hole.” A civil engineer in Livermore’s Physical and Life Sciences Directorate, Kirkil was the lead author for the 2009 paper, which was published in Journal of Hydraulic Engineering. The annual award honors the authors who have published a paper of superior merit that deals with a problem of flowing water, either in theory or practice. Papers are judged on the basis of the subject matter and the method of presentation. Founded in 1852, the American Society of Civil Engineers represents more than 140,000 members worldwide and is the oldest national engineering society in the U.S.


Crystal Jaing, a molecular biologist in the Laboratory’s Physical and Life Science Directorate, was inducted into the Alameda County Women’s Hall of Fame, one of 11 women to be honored in 2011. Jaing is a codeveloper of the Lawrence Livermore Microbial Detection Array, which can simultaneously identify thousands of known viruses and bacteria within 24 hours. She was recognized for her work in science.


Ben Santer, an expert in the climate change research community, has been named a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU), a worldwide scientific community that advances the understanding of Earth and space for the benefit of humanity. Santer has worked in the Laboratory’s Program for Climate Model Diagnosis and Intercomparison (PCMDI) for nearly 20 years, and is a frequent expert witness at congressional hearings on the science of climate change.

“Ideally, governments will use the best-available scientific information to make rational decisions on appropriate policy responses to the climate change problem,” says Santer. “My colleagues and I have the job of providing that information. The AGU fellowship gives me encouragement to continue PCMDI’s research into the nature and causes of climate change, and to continue explaining what we do, what we've learned, and why our work matters.” He credits his success to the exceptional scientists he has collaborated with at the Laboratory. “The best reward (award) is working together with great colleagues.” Only one in a thousand members is elected to AGU fellowship each year. Santer is one of six Livermore researchers who have been so honored.

S&TR Home | LLNL Home | LLNL Site Map | Top
Site designed and maintained by TID’s Web & Multimedia Group

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Operated by Lawrence Livermore National Security, LLC, for the
U.S. Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration

Privacy & Legal Notice | UCRL-TR-52000-11-6 | June 23, 2011